What are chakras?

February 28, 2018

 You may have heard of chakras, you may not. I did hear of chakras before I started my Reiki journey however I didn't really understand what the word chakra meant or what it is.



Chakra means "wheel" or energy centre. We have 7 main chakras (and many other small ones) which are located along our spine. Each chakra has a different colour and represents a different part of the body and glands.


During a Reiki treatment we often check these energy centres as they give us clues as to what is going on, physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.

Our aim is to ensure our chakras are balanced for optimum health and wellbeing. 


Let's have a look at the 7 main chakras:


1. Root chakra (base of spine) which is colour red.

2. Sacral chakra (just below the belly button) which is colour orange.

3. Solar plexus chakra (between the belly button and sternum) which is colour yellow.

4. Heart chakra (middle of the chest) which is colour green (sometimes pink).

5. Throat chakra (throat area) which is colour bright blue.

6. Brow chakra (third eye area) which is colour indigo.

7. Crown chakra (top of the head) which is colour violet to white.


When our chakras are metabolising energy efficiently it results in balanced and harmonious functioning of the parts of the body which are under its influence.

When there's a restriction or distortion in the energy flow of a chakra it can cause dis-ease in the related area of the body.


For example:

Let's look at your throat chakra.

When your throat chakra is balanced you are able to express yourself, you feel comfortable speaking your truth and others are listening to you.

When there's an imbalance this can result in a sore throat, stiff neck, colds, thyroid problems, hearing problems or you can feel like you're being judged.


Our energies can fluctuate during the day and our chakras respond to what "pushes our buttons". 

The easiest way of assessing yourself is to pay attention on how you are feeling. Where do you feel tension, pain, ease, lightness etc? Are there any repeating patterns in your life?


Reiki, Meditation and even Yoga are a great way of noticing and balancing your chakras.


I could go much more in-depth on this subject but maybe as a workshop for you to experience. 


In the meantime I hope you found this article useful and if you have any more questions please get in touch.

Or you can always book a Reiki treatment with me to discover more.


Sending love and light,

Di x



Tel 07875366298


Please reload

Featured Posts

What can you expect before, during and after a massage treatment

October 4, 2015

Please reload

Recent Posts

May 22, 2019

January 7, 2019

February 28, 2018